Mission: SNES


I’m going to attempt something that I have never done before and I hope that you, the reader, will stick with me throughout my trials and tribulations.  For me, games have always been more than a pastime; they have been a part of my life. People may have many interests ranging from sports to books to movies but for me, there is only one variable in my life: What game should I buy and what system should I buy it for?  Many of my friends claim that I am a Nerd and I would have to wholeheartedly agree with them. For my first article, I will try to convince you of this fact. After I have established my Nerd Cred, I can then move onto what brought you here in the first place, games and lots of them.

First of all let me start by saying that if you are not into classic games then this post may not be for you. But if you salivate at the mere thought of blowing dust from a NES cartridge or digging through a box of cartridges at some strangers garage sale; then you have come to the right place.  I am not sure how long this endeavor will take or what twists and turns may be in store for me but I promise you this: If you stay with me, I will help you re-live some of those lost memories from a time when you couldn’t wait to tear through your morning Christmas presents. Hoping your parents got you Final Fantasy II and not Mystic Quest.  So where do I begin? I guess I should start from the beginning and tell you a little bit about myself.

My name is James and I am addicted to games. My years of gaming started at a young age. I can remember Sunday afternoons wasted away playing on my parents Atari; the sun already starting to be a vague memory in my developing mind.  My first experience with video games thankfully did not leave a lasting impression on me or else this article could be really taking a turn for the worse. I say this because the Atari games my parents had were E.T. and Raiders of the Lost Ark.  Back then, I thought these games where great but over time I came to realize that these games were not very good or even okay. They were the bottom of the barrel. No scratch that, these were not the bottom of the barrel, these games were what would happen if you cracked open the bottom of the barrel and peered into the hole underneath it. A hole that burns into the very crust of the earth and boils with the devoured souls of children and puppies.

Moving on. I never really considered the Atari as my first true console since it was not mine. I could not play it any time I wanted to. I would have to ask my parents’ permission, beg my older sister to stop using the family TV, and drag that monstrosity out of the closet. No, my first “true” console was the NES. My time had arrived. I was one of the cool kids. Next came the Super Nintendo.  The SNES had been out for about a year when I was finally able to get my little, freckled mitts on it. I gathered up my NES and all my games and trudged my way to Funcoland.  Forty-five minutes later I exited with my very own used SNES, two games, and the feeling that someone should have bought me dinner first.  The SNES was my pride, it was my joy, it was everything I dreamed about.  I spent many a Friday nights bathed in the warm glow of Secret of Mana, Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, Super Mario World, and many more.

So here we are. I am now thirty-four, have three video game themed tattoos, a wealth of useless memorabilia, and a brain full of wonderful memories.  Since many of us may not always agree as to what game is the best, the worst, or just unknown, I will systematically go through every SNES game that is in my catalog (Currently 99).  I want to start with A and over time hopefully get to Z.  There will be tears, there will be cussing, but most of all there will be heart. I may skip some but only if I do not already own it. So if you feel that I missed a great game in error, please let me know. I will try to purchase it for my collection and write about it next chance I get.  So here we are, our walking shoes are laced, our JAM shorts are freshly washed and our SWATCHES have been synchronized.  As I peer at my shelf of SNES games the first one I see brings a smile to my face, elevates my pulse, and makes me dream of cities and creatures. That game is ActRaiser.

To Be Continued…

.

Comments
6 Responses to “Mission: SNES”
  1. Ryan says:

    Is that a Sony Walkman?

  2. James says:

    If I remember correctly it was but my parents were pretty cheap so it could be a knock-off. I do know for a fact that I was listening to Weird Al’s Yankovic. At that age I only owned Weird Al cassettes.

  3. That was beautiful. Man, that just resonates with my inner soul. You learn new things about yourself every day. Lol. I have a soul.

  4. James says:

    Glad I could help you find your soul. lol

  5. Jeff says:

    i have a crappy memory. and can’t remember any of my snes games i know my brother zelda was big into mario but for the life of me i just can’t remember what games i had. so hopefully with future columns you write i can remember the good old days of the snes

Leave a Reply

