Whats New With The 52

DC Comic’s relaunch hits full swing this week and I’m here to tell you what’s up with each book. Seeing as I actually have to READ them all before I can tell you about them these articles might not see the light of day until a little bit after the books come out. This is your chance to finally get into comics so take advantage of it. What I’m saying is, welcome to “What’s New with the 52”.

Action Comics features a younger, snarky, confident, Superman who isn’t afraid to get his farmers boots wet. This is a Superman we aren’t use to but at the character’s heart he is clearly still “the big blue boy scout”. This story already has a ton of momentum going for it, and I’ve got a good feeling that it’s going to keep that awesome momentum. Do yourself a favor and pick this up.

Detective Comics is all about Batman doing what he does best, and that’s being the world’s greatest Detective. The comic focuses on grim mysteries and it’s up to Batman and Jim Gordon to make sense of it all there’s really no better villain to use than the Joker so all you Batman movie and cartoon fans will feel right at home. I went ape-poo crazy over this one and so should you.

What’s there to say about Animal Man other than it’s by far my favorite book of this relaunch so far. The A-man is a middle aged father with two sons and a wife who just happens to be able to use ANY animal ability there is. The man just can’t figure out what he wants to do with his life whether that may be a stunt man, actor, or superhero. One thing’s for sure, that by the end of this incredible issue it’s clear the A-man has his work cut out for him. Pick this up for sure.

Justice League International is off to a rocky start. All you need to know is that it’s a multi-cultural team with big personalities and big action. I was really enjoying this book until I realized they were forcing characters to argue about “what country is better” and other stuff like that, it felt inorganic and almost turned me off of the book altogether. The book has the makings of something great so I would still say pick it up.

After reading Swamp Thing I was pretty impressed, it’s a super interesting, yet eerie book that I honestly can’t wait to read more of. The only drawback is that you can’t get a feel for where the story is going, but trust me you’ll want to keep an eye on this book. I’d pick it up if you like the supernatural, sci-fi, mystery, and even horror genres.

Like I said before, Animal Man is easily my favorite book of this week’s relaunches, but the truth is, the Men of War book is so close it can reach out and flick the ears of the Animal Man book. Men of War is simply a war comic…where the soldiers fight superhumans. This book looks like it’s going to have tons of character depth, but the only thing holding it back was the back-up story at the end. You’ll dig this book if you’re into war stories, underdog stories, and people going “balls to the wall”.

Batgirl, Batgirl, Batgirl, I really didn’t want to read you. I’m really glad I did though. This book is off to another strong start as we follow Barbara Gordon getting back into the swing of being a crime fighter. There’s really nothing else to say other than that this book has promise and a very charismatic main character. Pick this up if you like the Bat-Universe, and stories about “getting back up again”

Hawk and Dove was one of the books I was most looking forward to from the relaunch, sadly I was personally disappointed. The book starts right smack dab in the middle of the action and it really doesn’t work for these characters. This story has no momentum at all, I really wouldn’t miss ANY of the relaunch books but this one is definitely a hard sell. Read this one at the comic shop and see if the story picks up and speed.

Batwing is definitely the true dark horse of this week’s releases. All I could think was “really, another bat-book?” But I quickly found out that this is no mere bat-book, in fact it’s a book with beautiful art, and a book that incorporates all the best aspects of the Bat-Universe like: a strong main character, detective work, action, gadgets, and a crazy villain. This book is flicking Animal Man’s ears right next to Men of War. Don’t miss it.

Stormwatch is a straight sci-fi book. There’s no way around it, crazy scenarios, amazingly cool powers, and the assumption that each characters powers need to be blatantly crammed down your throat. Stormwatch is a mixed bag of ships but you should check it out if you’re looking for something a little different than spandex but you still want superheroics.

I would really like to talk to you guy about O.M.A.C. the only problem is, I don’t know what the heck I just read. This book is the pinnacle of insane (can you say super powered blue Mohawk?). The plot is almost non-existent but I’m sure it will progress quickly, check this book out if you like crazy, inadvertently-humorous, funky stories.

It’s really good to have Static Shock back. I used to love that show whenever it came on. This Virgil Hawkins is a lot smarter, has a ton of new powers, and is slightly more “socially inept” then his cartoon counterpart. The first issue offered a great story and it’s a “can’t miss” for someone who liked the old cartoon.

Green Arrow is a simple book about a billionaire playboy with really good aim. This is a really interesting read about someone who uses his wealth to fight crime. It sounds a lot like Batman but Green Arrow is a more lighthearted, team based operation. Not to mention he’s like an awesome Robin Hood-esc character. I wouldn’t miss this book either if I were you.

So what did you think? Did this article help you out? Is time travel real? Do you want to go try one of these books out? Which one? Do you believe in magic, in a young girl’s heart? Are these questions weird? Sound off in the comments section below, love me, and if you would push the LIKE button conveniently located on the left side of the site I would be your best friend.

Comments
6 Responses to “Whats New With The 52”
  1. Definitely agree about JLI and Hawk and Dove. Those are books that could be strong centerpieces for this new 52 and they didn’t really fire on all cylinders.
    I love the direction so far of Men of War, but I hope they can temper some of the stereotypical military barking of orders and use more of the stuff you really see like how they act and respond in the field.
    I’m sort of torn on the book also though, want to see them be badass but also want to see them be a team. But if the story stays strong they have my dollars.

    • Nick says:

      Same here man, Hawk and Dove need to step it up, although I love that Dove and Deadman are dating, that was my main grief with brightest day that they got torn apart. Hawkman didn’t really win in brightest day either

  2. Bob says:

    Very impressive Mr. Anderson! Your insight and synopsis are very keen and developed.

  3. Ryan says:

    I’m going to sit down with some comics tomorrow night. Should I light a candle?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the full article right here on http://www.thepixlpress.com  if you want, and don't forget to tell us what you think in the comments […]



Leave a Reply

