The One That Got Away

Have you ever squeezed every last bit of play-ability out of a game you absolutely loved but you didn’t have the sacred “monies” to fund your next universe saving excursion? I have, and trust me, I found myself dredging down to my local Gamestop to sell games like Kingdom Hearts, Demon’s Souls, Uncharted, and Monster Hunter Tri (and that’s just scratching the surface) just so I could snag yet another game that I was interested in.

It turns out that, more often than not, the new game I managed to snag was super-mega fun, until I realized that I managed to squeeze all the enjoyment out of even that game. Sadly the cycle of falling in love with a game and selling it back became an all to familiar pattern in my gaming life. After a while something happens, you get that certain itch, you know, the one where you want to go back and play through the story of one of those epic games you loved or maybe you just want a friend to see what they’re missing out on only to realize you sold that precious disc long ago.

*head desk*

Before you know it you’re sitting in your man-cave with nothing more than a copy of DC Universe Online, and you don’t even like DC Universe online anymore (me).  Trust me though, I’m not saying selling games to get new ones is a bad thing, because it’s really not, I’m just presenting the notion of keeping the games you love. I’ve recently taken my own advice of keeping my beloved games and I even began re-buying some of my old loves like Demon’s Souls (which I’ve managed to beat again). So let me leave you semi-faithful readers with this, love your games, keep those games, and reclaim what was once yours friends.

Go forth my gaming brethren and change your ways. Before you do though, tell us what games you gave up (only to purchase it again even) in the COMMENTS below, and if you like the content were putting out maybe push the LIKE button on the left hand side of the homepage. Thanks for reading guys can’t wait to hear from you.

Comments
16 Responses to “The One That Got Away”
  1. Siphen says:

    I do that all the time, everyone is forced to at some point when moneys run low.

  2. Ricky says:

    I stopped selling my games a long time ago… especially to Gamestop. It’s simply not worth it for me. Sometimes our desire for new things gets the better of us and we’re willing to give up some things that we love in order to give a new game a chance. Sadly, I think we’re being exploited.

    My advice is to mow more lawns or whatever it is that you can do easily for spending money. It’ll be worth it in the long run. 🙂

  3. I’m a chronic recycler as well. I’m so ashamed. 😦 …Anyway nice article! : )

  4. I sell a lot of my games, but I usually hold on to the titles that I know I’ll go back to. But I usually get to a point in most games that I know I’m done playing it. I can’t believe you sold Demon’s Souls though! I did give my buddy Dirt and every once in a while I get the urge to race up Pikes Peak. It’s pretty cool to race up a road that I have been to personally.

  5. jeridmcintyre1979 says:

    Suikoden on the for the PS1. I re bought it on the PS3 and played it for five minutes. My memories were quickly dashed on the rocks.

  6. KiraLight150 says:

    I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about. That happened to me way too many times, even with games I didn’t even like that much I would sometimes feel the urge to play. I eventually just stopped selling my games unless I was extremely positive that I wouldn’t play them again *only sold like 3 games*

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] ones I really dig. Anyway I would really appreciate it if you would give the full article a paroose here on http://www.thepixlpress.com. I would also appreciate a comment both here, and there. I know it's alot […]



Leave a Reply

