Ghost Rider: Spirit of Hilarity

Warning: In NO WAY should you take this movie seriously.

Also, it was AWESOME.

With comments after the credits amounting to things like “Eh, it was better than Fantastic Four two…” and “It was worse than the first movie!” Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance isn’t getting the love it deserves. With the less than dazzling first installment, it’s understandable that a lot of people will go to the movies expecting a steaming pile of Nicolas Cage… but it has something the original lacked entirely: a good sense of humor about itself. The directors, the cast, all seemed to be pretty aware of the shortcomings of the first film and understood the hilarity of the second.

I have no idea what I'm doing lol

Seeing this movie through the eyes of an excited ten year old boy is the best way to go about things: “That was awesome. That’s the best movie I’ve ever seen in my life!”

Is it the best movie I’ve ever seen in my life? NOPE. Was it funny, entertaining and full of cheese? Yes. A couple of times, admittedly, it was hard to tell if Nic Cage was actually serious about the faces he was making, but the laughter came on pretty strong either way (see: interrogation scene).

It has everything you’d crave from an action movie mixed in with the type of stupid humor that movies like Drive Angry epitomize and do so well, though not to as great a degree. There are a few characters you might find yourself attached to as well. Ghost Rider is pretty creepy a couple of times throughout and the effects are pretty sweet, but you can tell it doesn’t take itself seriously. That fact, and nearly that fact alone, is what makes this movie worth seeing, or at least getting someone else to pay for it if you can swing it. Given that I like my movies decidedly Nicolas Cage-less, that’s saying something.

(But considering that I think Face Off, Drive Angry, and this movie are worthwhile, I may need to rethink my taste.)

I'm going to steal the Anti-Christ from the Devil - I mean steal the Declaration of Independence.

Comments
7 Responses to “Ghost Rider: Spirit of Hilarity”
  1. Seth Latham says:

    I personally love this new theme in action movies like Drive Angry and Machete. The main reason action films suck is such a lack of humor.They’re too serious, to the point of self parody.

  2. Ryan says:

    After seeing the first movie, I was completely baffled as to why the studio would pay for a second one. I agree that not every comic movie needs to look like the recent Batman entries, but this was one that I had already tossed to the side…and now you got me curious. Arrrgggg.

    I may give in and just watch it on the big screen. After all, I’m sure Nic Cage needs to pay off his dinosaur head he purchased. Great read.

  3. Nick says:

    I really wanted to see this movie, great post Alicia.

  4. Jarrett says:

    What I love is when fanboys get butt hurt, claiming a befouling of the John Blaze character, when the graphic novels aren’t that much better than the movies.

Leave a Reply

